1-Star Manavgat Open in full swing

Lausanne, Switzerland, June 21, 2018 – The FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour 1-Star event in Manavgat, Turkey continued on Thursday with a full schedule for the pool stage of the main draw and many clear results in the women’s competition, where only three matches ended in the third set

Denmark dominated the second day of competition with two of their three teams qualifying for the quarterfinals and Round of 12 of the women’s event, respectively. Others qualifying for the second day were teams from Turkey, Greece, Japan, Austria, Sweden and Belgium. 


In Pool A, the favourites and top-seeds Panagiota Karagkouni and Angeliki Spiliotopoulou of Greece beat Belgium’s Sarah Cools and Lisa Van den Vonder 2-0 and followed up with another 2-0 victory, over Denmark’s Helle Sondergard and Simone Marie Okholm Hansen. Cools and Van den Vonder later claimed a 2-0 (21-18, 21-18) victory against Lisa-Sophie Kotzan and Leonie Klinke of Germany. 

Erika Habaguchi and Yurika Sakaguchi (JPN) dominated in Pool B with two wins against Alexandra Jupiter and Aline Chamereau (FRA) and Sara Malmstrom and Fanny Lindstrom (SWE). They dropped one set and emerged as the eventual group winners. Jupiter and Chamereau (FRA) won 2-0 (21-17, 21-11) against the home team Neriman Gencyurek and Selin Yurtsever of Turkey to stay alive in the competition. 

In Pool C, Denmark’s Maria Elisabeth Tyndeskov and Line Trans Hansen scored a couple of 2-0 wins against teams from Austria, namely Elisabeth Klopf and Valerie Teufl and Nadine Strauss and Franziska Friedl. 

Finally, Dimitra Manavi and Konstantina Tsopoulou from Greece dominated in Pool D with two wins against Lithuania’s Ieva Vasiliauskaite and Gerta Grudzinskaite and Turkey’s Aleyna Vence and Merve Nezir, without conceding a single set to the opposition.


The home team Yusuf Ozdemir and Ali Cebeci recorded a two-set win in their opening game against the Austrian side Florian Ertl and Mathias Seiser. Mads Rosager and Martin Trans Hansen stormed to a 2-1 victory in the Danish derby with Morten Overgaard and Daniel Jonassen. 

In Pool B, Max-Jonas Karpa and Milan Sievers of Germany beat Turkish team Mustafa Susam and Hasan Huseyin Yildirim 2-0 (21-15, 21-11), and Spanish brothers Alejandro and Javier Huerta Pastor beat Jakob Molin and Linus Tholse of Sweden 2-1.

Switzerland’s Quentin Metral and Simon Hagenbuch and Oscar Brandao and Luciano Ferreira de Paula of Brazil were the winners of the first matches contested in Pool C. 

In pool D, Kristoffer Abell and Daniel Thomsen (DEN) stormed to an impressive 2-0 victory over local favourties Engin Ozbek and Ali Berke Sagir in front of the Turkish fans. Elsewhere, Lander and Louis Vandecaveye from Belgium enjoyed a 2-0 (21-18, 22-20) victory in their match against Gabriel Burlacu and Jake MacNeil of Canada.


All the News